In many belief systems there is a teaching about a field of energy that surrounds the body – it has a number of different names depending on who you ask but is commonly known as an ‘aura’ or simply ‘energy field’ but whatever name people like to give it, the principles are that we all have our own energy that is personal to us and that it is important to understand how the energy moves around the body and this where The Chakras come in. A chakra is a spinning vortex of energy created within ourselves. The chakras are the centre of activity for the reception, assimilation and transmission of life energies. The word ‘chakra’ comes from the Sanskrit word for ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’ and originated within the philosophy of the ancient yoga systems of India, most specifically from the Tantric texts. In this system, there are seven major chakras arranged vertically along the spine, starting at the base of the spine and ending at the top of the head. In the physical body, each chakra corresponds to different glands, areas of the body and body processes. Whilst the chakras operate within the physical body and have a significance influence in regard to our overall health. The chakras also correspond to the psychological aspect of our selves and the areas of life that are affected by this for example, love, power, communication and so on. In philosophy terms; the chakras also relate to the major archetype concepts of earth, fire, water, air (the element) but also to light, sound and thought. The elements describe the essential nature of the chakras function, for example water that flows, fire that transforms. In addition to this, the chakras also have colours, sounds, gemstones attributed to them. The first four chakras also correspond to suit of tarot cards, for example, chakra one – the root or base chakra is associated with pentacles.  

Root Chakra

The first of the seven energy centers, Muladhara is associated with the element of earth and grounding. Explore Muladhara and learn how to harness the power of this energy centre.

Sacral Chakra

Swadhisthana is the second energy centre from the bottom. It’s color is orange and the primary drive of this energy centre is pleasure. Learn more about this seat of passion and re-connect with your feelings and creative energy.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Manipura is your power center – this is your Core Self. It is where your will, power, and assertiveness originate. Explore the third energy center in depth and learn how to tap into your own power.

Heart Chakra

Anahata, the centre of unconditional love and compassion, is in the center of the human energy system. Discover the hidden forces within this gentle energy centre and learn how to open to love in your life.

Throat Chakra

Vishuddha is your voice of authenticity and creative expression. It is the centre of communicating of your own truth. Explore the fifth energy centre in depth and learn how to balance and heal this powerful seat of truth and self-expression.

Third Eye Chakra

Ajna, the sixth energy center, provides the energy for spiritual reflection and insight. It allows you to experience clear thought and vision. Learn all about this control centre that allows you to cultivate strong and independent mind.

Crown Chakra

Sahasrara is the seat of cosmic consciousness and connects us to Divine intelligence and Divine grace. Explore the seventh energy center in depth, learn tools to balance and awaken this spiritual center.
%d bloggers like this: